2017 Recipient, Edlen Wong (right)
This award recognizes the most outstanding new practitioner who has demonstrated leadership at more than one level of organized pharmacy. He/she should be an energetic leader who has stimulated others to actively participate in professional, political, and/or community affairs related to the practice of pharmacy. The person should be well recognized by his colleagues for his/her professional advancements. The pharmacist must be licensed, a member of CPhA, and graduated less than 10 years prior.


  • Completed nomination form
  • A letter from the nominator to address the criteria and provide specific examples of how the candidate has made significant, influential and sustained contributions to the pharmacy practice in California.
  • Current full curriculum vitae or detailed resume of the nominee.
  • Up to 4 letters of recommendation
  • All letters of support must be signed by the author. Emailed letters must contain an electronic signature.
Submit a Nomination for the Distinguished New Practitioner Award

Award Submission:
Deadline for CPhA to collect nominations is Monday, January 15, 2018. All awards are submitted for review either electronically or via U.S. Postal Service. Please fill out the online nomination form and send all supporting documentation via email to ktacher@cpha.com. If submitting by mail, please download the nomination form and send along with all supporting documentation to:

CPhA Awards Committee
Attn: Awards Manager
4030 Lennane Drive
Sacramento, CA 95834

Selection Process:
The CPhA Awards Committee is responsible for selecting all qualified award winners, which is based upon careful review of all qualified applicants. Upon receipt of a nomination package, CPhA staff reviews the package for completeness and then forwards on to the CPhA Awards Committee. If the nomination package is incomplete, a CPhA staff member will follow up with the nominator to obtain the missing information.

Distinguished New Practitioner of the Year Past Recipients

 2017  Edlen Wong  2002  Jack Chen
 2016  Micah Hata  2001  Jeffrey Wong
 2015  Annie Ho  2000  Chris Salvatori
 2014  Michael Conner  1999  Adam Kaye
 2013  Sonya Frausto  1998  Harold Washington Jr.
 2012   Vinson Lee  1997  Jacqueline Kraus
 2011   Ken Thai  1996
 Grace Hayes
 2010  Veronica Bandy   1995  Michael Pavlovich
 2009  Eric Gupta  1994
 Jeana Colabianchi
 2008  Ryan Gates  1993  Marilyn Hedges Stebbins
 2007  Jason Kim  1992  Christopher Woo
 2006  Helen Park  1991  Pat Person
 2005  Marie Cottman  1990  Scott Workman
 2004  S. John Johnson  1989  David Bernal
 2003  Poonam Patel  1988  Michael Woo