Back to Awards

2015 Recipient, John Berger (accepted on behalf by John Cronin) (center)

The California Pharmacy Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who are, or have been, an inspiration to the practice of pharmacy in California, as exemplified by, but not limited to, the following: a long and distinguished history of service, achievement in several arenas, character, innovation, trend setting and altruism. Any individual who has been an inspiration to the practice of pharmacy in California is eligible for nomination. The nominee need not be a CPhA member or a pharmacist. The nominator need not be a CPhA member. Self-nominations are not accepted. 

  • Completed nomination form
  • A letter from the nominator to address the criteria and provide specific examples of how the candidate has made significant, influential and sustained contributions to the pharmacy practice in California.
  • Current full curriculum vitae or detailed resume of the nominee.
  • Up to 4 letters of recommendation
  • All letters of support must be signed by the author. Emailed letters must contain an electronic signature.
Submit a Nomination for Hall of Fame

Award Submission:
Deadline for CPhA to collect nominations is Wednesday, November 30, 2016. All awards are submitted for review either electronically or via U.S. Postal Service. Please fill out the online nomination form and send all supporting documentation via email to If submitting by mail, please download the nomination form and send along with all supporting documentation to:

CPhA Awards Committee
Attn: Awards Manager
4030 Lennane Drive
Sacramento, CA 95834

Selection Process:
The CPhA Awards Committee is responsible for selecting all qualified award winners, which is based upon careful review of all qualified applicants. Upon receipt of a nomination package, CPhA staff reviews the package for completeness and then forwards on to the CPhA Awards Committee. If the nomination package is incomplete, a CPhA staff member will follow up with the nominator to obtain the missing information.

Hall of Fame Past Recipients

 2015  John Berger    
 2014  Michael Pastrick    
 Royce Friesen  2005
 Thomas J. Long
 2013  Ralph Saroyan  2005
 Joseph M. Long
 2012  Jeff Jellin  2005
 Herman Cenci
 Clark Gustafson  2004
 Charles Brown
 Robert Day  2004
 Fred Mayer
 Donald Floriddia  2000
 Stephen Dibble
 2008  Sylester Flowers   2000
 Earl Giacolini
 2008  Peter Kellison  2000
 Robert Gibson
 Glenn Yokoyama  2000
 Wally Pond
 Bernard Bubman  2000
 Ivan (cy) Rowland
 Charles Green  2000
 Max Stollman
 Earl Mindell  1997
 Edward Brady
 Jody Stewart  1997
 Robert Johnson
 2006  Paul Lofholm  1997
 Mary Ann Koda-Kimble
 Eugene Tunick  1997
 Mary Munson Runge
 Carlo Michelotti  1997
 James Wagner