Back to Awards

2017 Recipient, Chris Givant (center)
This award recognizes a CPhA member pharmacist that is directly involved in a project or practice of pharmacy that has either significantly improved patient care, added to the scope of pharmacy practice, created a new type of pharmacy specialty, introduced a concept that has altered the view of the pharmacist, or invented a new chemical composition, method of delivery, raw material or machinery related to the field of pharmacy.


  • Completed nomination form
  • A letter from the nominator to address the criteria and provide specific examples of how the candidate has made significant, influential and sustained contributions to the pharmacy practice in California.
  • Current full curriculum vitae or detailed resume of the nominee.
  • Up to 4 letters of recommendation
  • All letters of support must be signed by the author. Emailed letters must contain an electronic signature.
Submit a Nomination for the Excellence in Innovative Award

Award Submission:
Deadline for CPhA to collect nominations is Monday, January 15, 2018. All awards are submitted for review either electronically or via U.S. Postal Service. Please fill out the online nomination form and send all supporting documentation via email to If submitting by mail, please download the nomination form and send along with all supporting documentation to:

CPhA Awards Committee
Attn: Awards Manager
4030 Lennane Drive
Sacramento, CA 95834

Selection Process:
The CPhA Awards Committee is responsible for selecting all qualified award winners, which is based upon careful review of all qualified applicants. Upon receipt of a nomination package, CPhA staff reviews the package for completeness and then forwards on to the CPhA Awards Committee. If the nomination package is incomplete, a CPhA staff member will follow up with the nominator to obtain the missing information.

Innovative Pharmacist Past Recipients

 2017 Chris Givant  2007 John Cronin
 2016 John Sykora  2007 Robert Graul
 2015 Marcus Ferrone  2005 Robert Nickell
 2014 Charles Leiter  2004 Don Cottman
 2012 Kenneth Scott Guess  2003 James Gates
 2011  Karl Hess  2001 Roger Klotz
 2010 Marilyn Stebbins   1997
Charles Bonner
 2009 Dana Nelson  1996
John Hambright 
 2008 William Wills   1994
Jim Avedikian