Back to Awards

2017 Recipient, Victor Law (center)
This award recognizes a CPhA member pharmacist for outstanding activities in the profession of pharmacy. The recipient must be an individual who has demonstrated leadership at more than one level of organized pharmacy. He/she should be an energetic leader who has stimulated others to actively participate in professional, political, and/or community affairs related to the practice of pharmacy. The person should be well recognized by his colleagues for his/her professional advancements.

It would be desirable if the activities or qualifications of the recipient were to result in an especially successful project or long-term effort on behalf of the profession. It should be noted that this highest award of the Association is not for a "one time flash" or to be used as a retirement recognition. The person's continued activities and efforts are essential.


  • Completed nomination form
  • A letter from the nominator to address the criteria and provide specific examples of how the candidate has made significant, influential and sustained contributions to the pharmacy practice in California.
  • Current full curriculum vitae or detailed resume of the nominee.
  • Up to 4 letters of recommendation
  • All letters of support must be signed by the author. Emailed letters must contain an electronic signature.
Submit a Nomination for the Pharmacist of the Year Award

Award Submission:
Deadline for CPhA to collect nominations is Monday, January 15, 2018. All awards are submitted for review either electronically or via U.S. Postal Service. Please fill out the online nomination form and send all supporting documentation via email to If submitting by mail, please download the nomination form and send along with all supporting documentation to:

CPhA Awards Committee
Attn: Awards Manager
4030 Lennane Drive
Sacramento, CA 95834

Selection Process:
The CPhA Awards Committee is responsible for selecting all qualified award winners, which is based upon careful review of all qualified applicants. Upon receipt of a nomination package, CPhA staff reviews the package for completeness and then forwards on to the CPhA Awards Committee. If the nomination package is incomplete, a CPhA staff member will follow up with the nominator to obtain the missing information.

Pharmacist of the Year Past Recipients

     2011   John Cronin  1997  David Fong  1983  Robert Hiatt
     2010  Ralph Saroyan   1996  Wilma Wong  1982  Chester Yee
     2009  George Yasutake  1995  Jerome Feitelberg  1981  Charles Green
     2008  Melvin Baron  1994  Donald Floriddia  1980  Todd Tomihiro
     2007  Paul Lofholm  1993  Jody Stewart  1979  Royce Friesen
     2006  David Breslow  1992  Michael Pastrick  1978  Mary Munson Runge
     2005  Christopher Woo  1991  Neil Maxwell  1977  Max Stollman
     2004  Phillip Oppenheimer  1990  John Berger  1976  Connie Abler
2017     Victor Law  2003  John Hambright  1989  Stephen Dibble  1975  Paul Schellenberger
2016  I.R. Patel  2002  John Tilley  1988  Gracia Bello  1974  Eugene Elkin
2015  Ryan Gates   2001  Clark Gustafson  1987  Glenn Yokoyama  1973  James Wagner
2014  Douglas Hillblom  2000  Robert Nickell  1986  Earl Giacolini  1972  Vic Boisseree
2013 Brian Komoto  1999  Charles Brown  1985  William Wickwire  1971  Bill Bacon
2012  Ira Freeman  1998  Leo McStroul  1984  Bill Altmiller  1970  Charles Jewell