2017 Recipient, Elizabeth Akhparyan (center)

Any student enrolled in a California School of Pharmacy who is a current member of ASP/CPhA is eligible to be nominated for this award. The person nominated should be active in the student chapter and demonstrate a willingness to become involved in the future of the profession as evidenced by involvement in CPhA and APhA professional activities. The person nominated should be involved in community projects or other programs designed to bring credit and public acceptance to the profession. Additionally, the student should be involved in advancing his/her school academically and professionally. Each California School of Pharmacy is requested to submit nominations for students from their graduating class that meet the above qualifications.


  • Completed nomination form
  • A letter from the nominator to address the criteria and provide specific examples of how the candidate has made significant, influential and sustained contributions to the pharmacy practice in California.
  • Current full curriculum vitae or detailed resume of the nominee.
  • Up to 4 letters of recommendation
  • All letters of support must be signed by the author. Emailed letters must contain an electronic signature.
Submit a Nomination for the Student Pharmacist of the Year Award

Award Submission:

Deadline for CPhA to collect nominations is Monday, January 15, 2018. All awards are submitted for review either electronically or via U.S. Postal Service. Please fill out the online nomination form and send all supporting documentation via email to ktacher@cpha.com. If submitting by mail, please download the nomination form and send along with all supporting documentation to:

CPhA Awards Committee
Attn: Awards Manager
4030 Lennane Drive
Sacramento, CA 95834

Selection Process:
The CPhA Awards Committee is responsible for selecting all qualified award winners, which is based upon careful review of all qualified applicants. Upon receipt of a nomination package, CPhA staff reviews the package for completeness and then forwards on to the CPhA Awards Committee. If the nomination package is incomplete, a CPhA staff member will follow up with the nominator to obtain the missing information.

Student Pharmacist of the Year Past Recipients

 2017  Elizabeth Akhparyan  2005 Christine Rongavilla  1993  Jennifer Ura
 2016  Tinh An (April) Nguyen  2004  Jeff Jolliff  1992  Peter Koo
 2015  Crystal Zhou  2003  Peter Lee  1991  Jeanine Hamill
 2014  Greg Estep  2002  Deborah Anderson  1990  Dan Cariddi
 2014  Scott Harada  2001
 Dante Yuson  1989  Michael Pavlovich
 2013  Richard Garcia  2000  Scott Eric Ayres  1988  Grace Hayes
 2012   David Ha   2000  Shaun F. Young  1987  Michael Manolakis
 2011   Hilary Campbell  1999  Lawrence Brown  1986  Robert Garlick
 2010  Bonnie Hui-Callahan  1998
 Helen Park  1985  Mark Shaefer
 2009  Vi Le  1997  Jeffrey Wong  1984
 Les Bennett
 2008  Danielle Colayco  1996 William Mumbert  1983
 Ruth Arnold
 2007  David Truong   1995 Edna Chan   1982
 Susan McCalla
 2006  Jennifer Russell  1994  Jeanne Lucich